A Board of elected fellows of the Royal Society of Naval Sciences supervises the business of the Society. The Board is composed of a chairman, vice-chairman and four members who each represent the Society’s four disciplines, two substitute members and the Secretary. The Chairman and Vice-chairman are elected yearly, while the Secretary is elected for an unlimited term of office. The four members and the two substitute members are elected for a period of two years. The Board is responsible for appointment of the following officers:

– The Treasurer
– The Editor the Society’s journal
– The Librarian of the Society’s library